An accident involving a motorcycle is always a serious matter. However, if the accident occurs outside of the state, it can add to the rider’s concern. This forces people to seek medical treatment outside of their network and deal with unfamiliar insurance and reporting procedures. Accident victims can help protect their rights and gather information valuable in pursuing a claim by following a few steps in the event of an out-of-state motorcycle accident.
Call The Local Authorities
The parties involved in any motorcycle accident should contact the police. When an accident occurs outside of the state, however, the rules regarding which department has jurisdiction may vary depending on the location of the accident. When the police arrive, they’ll make sure everyone gets the medical help they need while also filing a police report. Anyone involved in an accident should contact the local police department to receive a copy of the police report for their case.
Learn About Local Insurance Requirements Out-of-State
Every state has its own set of rules for motorcycle insurance coverage. Some states require that a policy cover both the driver and anybody else involved in the accident, including property damage. Some states require drivers to purchase liability insurance for their own damages. If they carry liability insurance, riders may sue the at fault driver directly for their injuries.
Take Photos at the Scene
Anyone involved in a motorcycle accident should take photographs of the scene. This contains pictures of all cars, the accident site, the existence of any traffic control signals, and the weather. This is especially important when the accident occurs in a different state. This is because the rider will almost certainly never be able to return to the scene. If a person forgets to take pictures after a local accident, they can revisit the location a few weeks later. In the case of an out-of-state accident, however, this becomes significantly less likely. Anyone can record important details after an accident because almost everyone has a photo and video camera in their smartphone.
Out-Of-State Laws In California
Courts in California have authority over nonresidents, including out-of-state drivers, if they exercise such authority in a manner that is compatible with the state and federal constitutions. If a rider from a different state is involved in an accident, they will be subject to the same laws as a resident. When reporting an accident, out-of-state drivers must obey the laws of the state they are in. Any accident resulting in injury, death, or property damage worth more than $1,000, it must be reported to the state Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the accident.